16 jours d’activisme 2022

Chaque année, EuroMed Droits et ses membres se joignent aux 16 jours d’activisme pour mettre fin aux violences envers les femmes, du 25 novembre au 10 décembre.
Cinq ans après #MeToo, la violence contre les femmes dans la région euro-méditerranéenne se poursuit à un rythme alarmant. Cette violence est exacerbée par plusieurs facteurs en hausse dans la région, tel que la montée des contestations de l’égalité de genre, comme le montre notre carte des contrecoups. La montée des mouvements populistes s’appuyant sur un discours traditionaliste et religieux place les femmes dans un rôle de pourvoyeuses de soins plutôt que d’actrices politiques. Ces discours prévalent hors ligne mais ont aussi envahi l’espace digital. Dans notre rapport « Espaces de Violence et de Résistance : les droits des femmes dans le monde numérique » [en anglais], nous dressons un aperçu régionalisé de cette violence en ligne.

CE QUE FONT NOS MEMBRES:

FRANCE

En 2020, seuls 18% des rapports de police concernant des violences commises par un conjoint ou ex-conjoint firent l’objet d’une enquête, et 80% des plaintes furent classées sans suite. Seulement 0,6% des plaintes pour viols aboutirent à une condamnation. La Ligue des droits de l’Homme (LDH) se bat pour l’effectivité des droits des femmes dans tous les domaines (justice, éducation, droits reproductifs et socio-économiques). Pour la Journée internationale pour l’élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes, la LDH organise sa 25ème Université d’automne, « Luttes des femmes dans le monde et mouvements féministes », les 26 et 27 novembre à Paris, ouverte à tout.es.

MAROC

UN Women/Karim Selmaoui

ADALA prévoit une campagne sur l’impact de la violence sur les femmes, à travers les témoignages de marocaines survivantes de violences, qui furent aidées par la clinique juridique « Justice pour tous ». Cette campagne vise à sensibiliser à l’importance de l’accompagnement des victimes de violences, grâce aux conseils d’une experte, qui expliquera les démarches à entreprendre en cas de violence. Une table ronde sur la loi 103.13 et les défis de son application aura lieu. Suivez la campagne sur Facebook, Twitter et LinkedIn ! L’OMDH organise un atelier la semaine du 3 décembre à Rabat, destiné à une vingtaine de participant.es dont des étudiant.es.

ÉGYPTE

La campagne Facebook du CEWLA porte sur la loi globale de lutte contre les violences envers les femmes en Égypte. CEWLA abordera les aspects sociaux, psychologiques et juridiques de la violence envers les femmes et la manière dont elle affecte la vie des victimes. L’objectif est de plaider pour l’adoption d’une loi complète de lutte contre toutes formes de violence et de discrimination à l’égard des femmes, incluant le mariage des enfants, les mutilations génitales et la cyber-violence.

LIBAN

La campagne de KAFA demande l’adoption d’une loi civile unifiée sur le statut personnel. Cette campagne répond à des questions discriminatoires soulevées quotidiennement dans la société libanaise, en soulignant l’étroite corrélation entre les lois religieuses actuelles sur le statut personnel et la violence subie par les libanaises. Le CLDH lancera son rapport sur les violations des droits des femmes dans les lois libanaises sur le statut personnel, sur Facebook, Twitter et Instagram.

TUNISIE

L’Association tunisienne des femmes démocrates organise 4 événements en Tunisie sur le thème des femmes victimes de violence : un séminaire présentant une analyse juridique, une table ronde, une mobilisation de féministes contre l’impunité, et un one-woman-show féministe. Toutes les infos sont publiées sur Facebook. Notre membre DIGNITY prévoit une campagne de sensibilisation sur Facebook pour mettre en évidence les liens entre la violence sexiste et la torture.

ISRAËL/PALESTINE

La campagne de Kayan, intitulée « Solution takes its place », vise à mettre en lumière les facteurs conduisant au déclin de la participation des femmes et des jeunes à la politique locale, à travers 23 activités de sensibilisation. Suivez-la sur Facebook, Instagram et Twitter. Pour sa part, le PCHR organise une conférence sur le meurtre de femmes dans les territoires palestiniens et d’autres activités détaillées sur Facebook, Twitter et Instagram.

ITALIE

D.i.Re met en œuvre la campagne nationale de collecte de fonds « Fund for Future », pour soutenir le travail quotidien de ses 110 organisations membres (centres pour femmes et refuges pour femmes survivantes de violences). D.i.Re se joint également à la manifestation féministe et transféministe contre la violence sexiste et la violence contre les femmes prévue le 26 novembre à Rome avec le mouvement Non una di meno.

RÉGIONAL

SUDS, en tant que membre du réseau Anawanti, participe à une campagne de communication pour faire état de la violence de genre dans plusieurs pays, dont le Maroc et la Palestine. Chaque pays aura trois publicaitons : une courte interview ; des statistiques sur les féminicides, la violence sexuelle et physique ; et une citation de l’organisation.

Pour clôturer les Seize jours d’activisme, EuroMed Droits organise, avec Danner, une conférence régionale sur la lutte contre la violence envers les femmes dans les pays du Maghreb (Algérie, Maroc, Tunisie) les 9 et 10 décembre à Tunis. Cette conférence vise à mettre en lumière la situation des droits des femmes dans la région et à initier des ateliers prévus à cet effet. Toutes les infos sur notre page Facebook.

16 Days of Activism 2022

EuroMed Rights and its members join the 16 Days of Activism to put an end to violence against women, from 25 November (International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women) to 10 December (Human Rights Day).
Five years after #MeToo, violence against women in the Euro-Mediterranean region continues at an alarming rate. This violence is exacerbated by several factors on the rise across the region, like the rise of contestations of gender equality as evidenced on our backlash tracking map. The rise of populist movements making use of a traditionalist and religious discourse places women in the role of caretakers rather than political actors. These discourses are prevalent offline but have also invaded the digital space. In our report “Spaces of Violence and Resistance: women’s rights in the digital world”, we propose a regionalised overview of such online violence.

WHAT ARE OUR MEMBERS DOING:

FRANCE

In 2020, only 18% of police reports of violence by a spouse or ex-spouse were investigated, and 80% of complaints were closed without follow-up. Only 0.6% of rape complaints result in a conviction. The Ligue des Droits de l’Homme (LDH) fights for the effectiveness of women’s rights in all areas (justice, education, reproductive and socio-economic rights). On the occasion of the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women, the LDH is organising the 25th Autumn University entitled “Women’s struggles in the world and feminist movements” which will take place on 26 and 27 November in Paris. Everyone is welcome to participate. More info.

MOROCCO

UN Women/Karim Selmaoui

ADALA plans a social media campaign to highlight the impact of violence on women, through the testimonies of Moroccan women survivors of violence, who have been helped by the legal clinic “Justice for All”. This campaign aims to raise awareness on the importance of accompanying women victims of violence, through the advices of an expert, who will explain the steps to be taken in case of violence. A round table on law 103.13 and the challenges of its application will also take place. Follow the campaign on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn! The OMDH organises a workshop the week of the 3rd December in Rabat, for 20 participants including young students.

EGYPT

CEWLA‘s 16 days of activism Facebook campaign is about the comprehensive law to combat violence against women (VAW) in Egypt. Throughout the campaign, CEWLA will tackle the social, psychological, and legal aspects of VAW and how it affects women and children greatly. The campaign’s aim is to advocate for the importance of issuing a comprehensive law to combat all forms of violence and discrimination against women, including child marriage, female genital mutilation and cyber violence.

LEBANON

KAFA’s social media campaign demands the adoption of a civil unified personal status law. This campaign answers some of the discriminatory questions raised daily in Lebanon society, by highlighting the close correlation between the current religious personal status laws and the violence that Lebanese women are suffering. The CLDH will be launching its report on women’s rights violations in Lebanese personal status laws, highlighted on its Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

TUNISIA

The Tunisian Association of Democratic Women organises four events taking place in Tunisia, on the topic of women victims of violence : a seminar presenting a legal analysis, a round table, a mobilisation of feminists against impunity, and a feminist one-woman show, “Rawah”. All the infos on the events is published on Facebook. Our member DIGNITY is planning a Facebook awareness campaign to highlight the links between gender-based violence and torture, both being human rights violations.

ISRAEL/PALESTINE

Kayan’s campaign, with the slogan “Solution takes its place”, aims to shed lights on the factors leading to a decline in women’s and youth’s participation in local politics, through 23 awareness-raising activities. Follow it on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. In its side, PCHR organises a conference on the killing of women in the Palestinian territories and other activities detailed on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

ITALY

D.i.Re is implementing the nation-wide fundraising campaign “Fund for Future”, to support the daily work of the 110 D.i.Re member organisations (women’s centres and shelters for women survivors of violence). D.i.Re is also joining the feminist and transfeminist demonstration against gender-based violence and violence against women scheduled on November 26th in Rome together with the movement Non una di meno.

REGIONAL

SUDS, as part of the Anawanti Network, is participating in a communication campaign to show gender violence in the different countries, including Maroc and Palestine. For each country there are three publications: a short video interview with a organization’s member ; a publication with statistics on feminicides, sexual and physical violence, and a quote from the organisation that represents the way they work.

To close the 16 Days of activism, EuroMed Rights organises, jointly with Danner, a Regional Conference on Combating Violence Against Women in the Greater Maghreb Countries (Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia) on the 9-10th December in Tunis. The conference aims to shed light on the situation of women’s rights in the region and to initiate the framework of the workshops planned for this purpose. All infos on our Facebook page.